Skip to content

The mossy rail/You get what you pay for

October 7, 2009

I was doing some hard drive house cleaning when I came across this photo taken awhile back. This was one of the first shoots I did with off camera flash triggered by a set of ebay remotes ( except that I got them from a shop in Peninsula shopping centre). I had a whole set ready to go, 1 transmitter and 2 receivers wired up to a speedlite each. It was going to be an exciting shoot, great location, versatile lighting, epic pictures ! If only they freakin worked…

My original setup was 1 main light from bottom of the rail and 1 at the back of the skater to separate him from the dark background. The thing was, only 1 speedlite triggered and even then, once out of every 10 shots I took. NO EXAGGERATION here. Soon it got darker and darker, mosquitos were out in full force, we got tired of repetitive trying. I kept one speedlite away and for some reason, the hit rate improved. ( like once every 4 times instead )

Set up

Lesson learnt, you get what you pay for. I guess they don’t call them “poverty wizards” for nothing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dana Lam permalink
    November 17, 2009 1:11 am

    HOHO, loved this post.

Leave a Reply

